Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

With the pressure of studying for my finals, the craziness of the upcoming holidays and the year-end busyness, I’ve been exploring ways to de-stress and focus on confidence building.

During my research, I discovered a Yoga & Pilates studio whose mission is “to provide a healing and safe space, which supports the evolution of mind, body and spirit through the practice of yoga & pilates.” Yoga and Pilates is designed for anyone searching for a peaceful retreat within the body and aims to assist you in tapping into your quiet, inner space through movement and mediation- aka super relaxing!

I decided to try a few different classes at the studio.  Thankfully, the sessions gave me the retreat I needed and helped me to channel that quiet space and inner harmony. Upon my return home, I was inspired to do more research on yoga positions that aim to release anxiety and boost confidence. Needless to say, my search for stress relief and confidence building yoga/pilates practices has been as very successful.

downward-dog

Yoga position: “Downward facing dog”

Staying hydrated before, during and after any exercise is imperative for the body to maintain its temperature, remove waste and lubricate joints.  Water is especially essential for optimal health.  Under the “healthy living/lifestyle” umbrella, comes proper nutrition.  Eating clean, drinking enough water and getting the adequate amount of sleep at night (7-8 hours) are key in overall wellness and health.  Here are a few of my go-to healthy smoothie recipes, which are fun and easy to make:

Note:  When I don’t feel like using water, I add either almond milk, cold green tea or coconut water to my shakes- yum!

MeghanTelpner_BlueberrySmoothie-660x523

Blueberry chocolate smoothie

Screen shot 2013-12-04 at 12.03.06 PM

Screen shot 2013-12-04 at 1.22.03 PM

Detoxifying green smoothie

Screen shot 2013-12-04 at 1.22.14 PM

Screen shot 2013-12-04 at 1.29.46 PMGreen pear smoothie

Screen shot 2013-12-04 at 1.30.07 PM

